Wednesday, September 24, 2008

Classes start tomorrow!

Since we last talked, I've joined a social circle for Japanese students who want to meet internationals and practice Japanese with them. It's been fun, we had a party, and also we had a trip to the Temple of 1000 buddhas. So far during my stay in Kyoto, I've seen more "National Treasures" than most people do in a lifetime...
I'm loving it here, I'm making a ton of great new friends!
On sunday I got to see Elisabeth who is now Teaching on a small island north of here! Afterwards, I went out with a bunch of people from my dorm to sanjou kiyamachi and went to a dance club (one of the few ACTUAL dance clubs in the city) It was quite fun!
Since I last updated, I've gotten my Gaijin paper, health insurance, cell phone, and bank accounts.
Of course on my insurance (and therefore my bank accounts) my name was misspelled... instead of "クーパー" they wrote it as "ケーパー" (notice the small line on the top of the 1st character...) This in effect changed my name from "Cooper" to "Caper (like a mushroom?)" hmmm... well I guess I'm now Rob Caper for insurance and banking...
So you know how I said it is typical for Japanese people to ignore strangers? I was sort-of mistaken... In Kyoto (pretty much Kyoto only apparently), elderly women will approach young people (foreign or not) and begin to have conversations such as "what is your name?,""where are you from?,""what are you studying?." This was a very amusing discovery for me as it happened both in the line at the bank and on the bus.
Well, I should have a more interesting post once I get into classes and everything... the last week was spent meeting people and filling out forms...

Thursday, September 18, 2008

Who'da thunk it?

Today was a big change from the past 2 days. I got a good amount of sleep (though i still woke up ridiculously early... and went to the Fusoukan (the building where the international center is located), and found out that I was not placed in level 2 like I thought I MAY be placed into. NO, I was placed in not level 1 (like I feared...) but LEVEL 3. This made me pretty happy! After this we had time to meet our Sensei (I have 5, one for each day). We also signed up for classes. For this quarter I signed up for half the required ammount (20 language classes, 4 discussion tables, and 6 culture classes). Every day, I take 2 periods of Japanese language in the morning (9-12h15 with a 15 minute break). On tuesday, I have Cultures during 4th period, which is basically a field trip class! We learn Ikebana (flower arranging), Aikido (martial arts), kansaiben (western dialect), sumie (ink painting), etc... I also have a beginner level discussion table. On thursday, I will be taking the English section of comparative cultures (which is about Great Brittain since there are more english speaking students from there), and Law and Politics of Japan. On friday, I have Intermediate level discussion table, which I am sure will be a bit difficult, but both of my teachers who conducted my interview told me "daijoubu yo" or "that's ok!"
I didn't realize how busy this will be, but hey, I'll definitely learn alot!

Remember how I had to get that chest X-ray last xmas? well I got zapped again today... man they really hate tuburculosis here... and dont have the "stab-the-monster" arm test...

I've been meeting a bunch of people, and they're all so nice! On yesterday's library tour I met Chanaw from Miami and Aya from LA, who are in the Bekka school. We ended up having lunch together and chatting. Both of them are veterans at this whole living in Japan thing.
Today, I was walking by the kofukan (classroom building), and was stopped by someone who I had never seen before (which is very rare in Japan since nobody makes eye contact with strangers, and much less even nods or speaks (though I've gotten used to being stared at until I look because I am an exotic foreigner)). Anywho... He was like "HEY, are you Rob?" ~which really threw me off... how did he know my name?~ "I am Ryan's friend Vincent from China! He showed me your picture and told me to meet you! Let's become friends!" I had remembered reading in Ryan's blog about Vincent, so I was very surprised, I agreed, then we parted ways.
I arrived at the kanbaikan for my health check pretty early, and was resting on the couch when I was greeted by Yao san, who is also from China (wow, the Chinese are so friendly!) We talked in Japanese for a bit before realizing that we could communicate in English much easier since we were in levels 3 and 4 of Japanese...
Last night, I ended up talking to the girl who helped me apply for my Alien Registration Card (like a green card but I must have it on me at all times to prove I'm not an Illegal alien). She invited me to BBQ for our dorm area on sunday, after which we will go on a group hike to the 大 character that is written on the side of Daimonji Mountain! I was also invited to join the "Cosmopolitan club" which is like "introduction to Kyoto and Japanese students for international students." On sunday they are also having a field trip! I'm so excited to meet new people!
Last night, I met one of my friends from JASC who also goes to Doshisha. We had Japanese Italian food in the station. It was quite good! It was good to see someone from JASC and recall memories!
Apparently it was so weird to see me in Japan though!
I am really excited for classes to start next Thursday! It's about time... But on the same token, I'm also nervous about it...

Tuesday, September 16, 2008

"REALITY CRISIS"

I saw this on an "engrish" t-shirt today during a break for orientation, and I thought that it was perfect for how I feel today. I woke up at around 6 am (jetlag is the best, AND WORST alarm clock EVER!). After this, I got ready for the day. For breakfast I had muscat yogurt and a grapefruit drink, which was very delicious! When 10 FINALLY rolled around, all of the new Language and Culture center students (日文センター) (like me), and Bekka students filed into the divinty hall and had an entrance ceremony. At first I was just staying to myself, but then my neighbor Adrian from Universiteit Leiden (Netherlands) joined me and we talked for a bit. The ceremony was interesting and I was able to follow along for a good bit. IMMEDIATELY after the ceremony (literally as they said Amen) we went to the next building and started our placement test. Needless to say I could only attempt section one... (for the 1st 2 levels/4 of the Japanese proficiency test). Even that was probably very scattered and filled with mistakes, I was too tired to tell. I got a quick lunch, then we had our Orientation which cosisted of going through paperwork in Japanese for 2 hours, but I also received my student ID and log-in information (I'm a real student!). After this, I had about 2 hours of free time before my oral interview. I can honestly say that I think this went well. My interviewer asked me if I knew Ryan Fark, and after responding in the affirmative, I was informed that she went bowling and hung out with him on numerous occasions. This made me feel more at ease, but I know that I stumbled quite a bit!
Right now it's almost 6 pm, and I'm about ready to fall asleep...
I think I will attempt to fill out a few forms then get some dinner... Tomorrow, I will be starting quite early and travelling around Kyoto with a Japanese student to register myself as an Alien, though not the fun kind with the lazers and space ships...
Walking through Gosho (The Imperial Garden) on the way to campus, I was nearly attacked by a crow. If you don't know, crows in Japan are about twice the size as in America. I think Frances said it best on the AP Art trip "I FEEL LIKE THAT CROW COULD EAT MY SOUL." I have heard that orientation is just a huge mess of confusion and it becomes better afterwards, but we are all so tired and loopy right now.

Sunday, September 14, 2008

KYOTO!





























So after just about the longest journey EVER, I'm finally here, with internet, and caught up a bit on sleep!
So Tuesday was my big going-away party where my parents invited people over to say bye. It was a ton of fun, and I got some very useful (and packable!) presents!
Thursday I started my journey with a flight to Chicago, pretty uneventful, and I made it to the Quality inn pretty easily. HOWEVER, I didn't sleep much...
The next 2 flights were... well... long...
I made it to my dorm at about 7 pm Japan time and got checked in, my room is HUUUGE!
After checking in, Akie and I met Sandy (who took Japanese with me and is studying in Hikone) for dinner. my 1st meal in Japan only cost 円300! (a little less than $3).
Overnight, in my lack-of-sleepyness I unpacked my suitcases, everything fit! The next day, I woke up really early and walked along the Kamo River as well as the Gosho park. At 11, I met with Akie, Sandy, Ryder, Daniel, and their friend from JCMU (the other school). We walked downtown (Shijou) and met with Hisashi and Takumi. After this we went to the lower section of my street (Teramachidori) which is a shopping street to have lunch, shop, and play drums! After dinner at a tapas place, we rode the subway back home. I stopped by Akie's apartment (about 15 minutes away and half the size with double the stuff). to use her internet very briefly. Upon returning to my dorm, I met a few people, and after telling them that I moved into Hawaii 102, about 3 of them informed me that they had presents for me from former K students/former 102 residents! I received a Christmas tree!, a tv, a toaster oven (now I have 2...) a claendar, A BYCYCLE!, and an internet router! EVERYBODY IS SO NICE! They are throwing a BBQ for all the new residents soon!
Today I'm going to put the bike under my name so I can get it back if it gets towed! Tomorrow is the start of Orientation, so I may be writing a new entry about how school is going soon!

mata ne
Rob

Monday, September 8, 2008

It's The FINAL COUNTDOWN

Well, that title would have fit better if I were going to Europe...
I leave Atlanta in 3 days, and leave the states in 4 days.
Currently I have part of one suitcase packed... (out of 2 suitcases, a carry on bag, and backpack).
It seems like I've done most of what I can do as far as preparations, now I just need to call the bank and cc company.
I'm kind of glad that my program starts so late because most programs are now a month in, and I enjoy this nice time to relax! It is partly frustrating because I am reading all of my friends' adventures while slowly packing and otherwise loafing around.
I've recently talked to Akie (one of the visiting Internationals (VI) at K College last year), and she has agreed to help me transport my luggage from Kyoto train station to my dorm room near campus. Not only will it be great to see her, but this will also save money as subway tickets are roughly $1.50-2 depending on the distance as opposed to the higher cost of taxis.
Hisashi and Takumi, two other VI's from my freshman year will be visiting me the following day and showing me around the area.
I've recently received an e-mail with my orientation schedule (of which I can understand roughly 50%). From what I can tell it will be a fun week aside from the placement test and the physical.
...I can't wait until I can actually post stuff about study abroad on here instead of fluff because I'm bored...
In other news I have from 3h20-7pm to land, go through customs, buy an express train ticket, 1.15 hour ride to Kyoto, meet Akie, take subway to 今出川駅, then walk to the dorm and get my key! needless to say I'm stressed about that...