Thursday, May 21, 2009

oink oink...

SO the swine flu has officially reached Kyoto...
at 9 am EST (10 pm JST) on Thurs nov. 21st a 10 year old boy in the south part of town was diagnosed with swine flu... this is late considering it has been a week since the flu entered Japan (in Kobe/Osaka) and has surrounded Kyoto prefecture for a few days (meaning the train that carried the virus from osaka to shiga prefectures went through kyoto) 
So since there is a small boy with swine flu somewhere in Kyoto, ALL SCHOOLS HAVE BEEN CANCELLED FOR A WEEK
Students are not allowed on campuses
Doctor Masks have been sold out for over a week in all places that sell them despite the fact that they have no effect on whether or not you will catch the virus.
Japanese people are encouraging hand washing and gargling despite the fact that only kitchen or tub sinks dispense of hot water and soap is rarely found... anywhere, so basically just lightly splash your hands with cold water and then gargle by cupping your hands and using the same cold water with your (still) germy hands  to gargle...
Because the schools have also ordered a ban on public bufoonery (i.e. going out in public with friends, or otherwise being in contact with people)
karaoke places as well as many popular hangout places have been forced to turn away students from using the facilities (because an elementary student has the disease, obviously all students now have it and we should all be bundled up into one category because Japan loves doing that.)



for example, any non Japanese/non asian person is automatically American and can speak fluent English (and no other language) they are all rude and have no regard for others. 
also it is perfectly okay to take pictures of these people on trains or talk about them and laugh at them in a loud voice because they don't understand Japanese so it's okay! These people are very rare and should be treated with caution, teach children to be afraid of them or else they will eat your face!

any asian person in Japan has got to speak perfect Japanese and follow all manners or they are considered to be socially inept individuals. Should a Japanese person say that they are actually American, they will not be placed in the aforementioned group, but rather be cast aside as a social outcast.

of course this is not all japanese, but many.

...so that's just my most recent frustrations with Japan...

Saturday, May 16, 2009

1 month hiatus... I'm back

so for some reason I've had a dry month on my blog. Alot has happened during the past month and I have a ton to update on, but I'm quite busy these days so I must make it relatively short...

3 days ago marked 8 months here and 3 months left! AHHHHHH


so since the last update I've gone through my first Golden Week holiday (week long holiday with no school)
survived the huge pig influenza scare of japan (literally if you sneezed (during pollen season) you were told to quarantine yourself)
and experienced Japanese media hype about a drunken naked celebrity that would have caused greater fame in the states.

Golden week was pretty awesome! I went to Hyogo prefecture for the first time and saw Kobe and Himeji castle!
I got my lunch stolen by a kite (the predatory bird not the sheet that flies) along the river.
I was given a summer kimono (yukata)
In my free time (and free time from now until Jul 5) I have been (will be) studying isshokenmei for the 2nd level of the JLPT (japanese language proficiency test). At this point I am bound to fail it, but I'd still like to see exactly how far I have to go before I can pass to set a marker for my studies.

Not having a job is so hard! A. I have too much free time, B. I have too little money. It's been 5 years since I didnt have a job (or 2/3/4) at any one time and I am going crazy (which may be in part due to the fact that I am watching my funds dwindle to nothingness $400 a month for rent/insurance plus the cost of food (which I am stretching as much as possible) Thank goodness a bowl of noodle soup with green onions (kake udon) is only 150 yen! that has turned into my lunch (maybe a small block of tofu as well)
Well I'm looking up because I know I have a secure job next year as Senior RA in Hoben!
Well , i'm off to buy eggs and rice and some stuff at the store, then studying with my 100 yen free refill coffee (that tastes average).

Hopefully I will update more often (probably wont happen since I'm studying so much.