Wednesday, October 1, 2008

忙しかった (EE SOH GAH SHE KAH TAH)

For all you wakaranai (don't understand) people, the title means I was busy. Sorry for the lapse... but it's bound to happen more and more as the year goes on and my daily routine settles (unless you want entries that state the same thing kana...).
Well, I've officially had all of my classes, so I feel like I can update about them now:

Every day, I have Japanese for 3h15m... it's quite taxing yo. From 9-12h15, I learn a chapter per day. I also have a different sensei every day, so now I've had to do my self-introduction about 10 times (self-intros are really big here). I really like all of my teachers, they are all really nice. My Tuesday teacher, Furukawa Sensei is kind of scattered so it makes the class more interesting. I'm kind of frustrated because we're going over extremely easy characters... so I feel like kanji time every day is sort of wasted...

Thursdays, I have UK/Japan Cultural comparison, and it seems like the easiest class I've ever taken! It's an ADVANCED LEVEL course because it's in English, so I have to write about 300 words for homework every week (this weeks is a response to Led Zeppelin, and a short bit of research on the IRA).

After that, I have Law and Politics of Japan in Japanese, so it's a bit difficult, but I'm going to stay with it at least until drop period.

Friday afternoon, I have 日本語総合演習B, which is an intermediate Japanese Language seminar, but I dont know, I think I may wait until next semester to take this class...

On Tuesdays, I have 日本語総合演習A which is a similar class, but working on Oral skills, it seems like a very fun class, and the level is not too difficult!

After Seminar A, I have Cultures of Japan/Kyoto. This class seems like an awesome class, we have Japanese student TA's (who happen to be in my Circle(informal club). The downside of that is that they keep being like who knows the answer? ROB!!!! KOTAE WA!?(What's the answer?).

I was able to meet with JASC people on Thurs evening, which was very fun, we reminisced and planned to meet again! On Saturday, I ran into Hisashi (My 1st TA who visited Atlanta during Spring Break 2007). We were so surprised to see eachother in the student supply shop. I ended up having lunch with he and his dad.

On sunday, I went to Fushimi Inari Shrine with my Circle (as seen in the movie Memoirs of a Geisha... In fact, for those of you who havn't seen the movie, watch it for a good idea of where I am living... little has changed since the time of the movie in many neighborhoods...). Even though I had been here before, it was still great to see it again as it is such an amazing shrine!

After Tuesday's culture class, I ran into Tomoka (studied at K college for a year) on campus and we talked for a while with her friend who spoke Spanish.

I'm beginning to get used to hearing Japanese only and living here. It's quite enjoyable so far, but I've only begun the "study abroad bell curve of emotions" given to me by the K councelling center.

Today I had lunch with Iseki, Moto, and Iseki's friend, then explored the Kyoto U campus, it's quite nice, but I like Doshisha better I think (NO OFFENSE GUYS!).

Well, it's about time to write 300 words... in English... about Led Zeppelin... HAHA!

UNTIL NEXT TIME (whenever that may be)
-Rob

OOH OOH PS!
Have you ever heard of a small company that's kind of well known called "NINTENDO?" How about "KYOCERA?" Well... I don't want to brag (cuz I mean who's heard of them...) but they are located within 2 miles of where I live...

No comments: