Saturday, November 1, 2008

Japalloween

so one question asked of me recently was whether or not Japan celebrates Halloween.
The answer: not really...
I'd say it celebrates the day more than anywhere else in Asia, but it is an Irish (Catholic) holiday that was imported and popularized in America after all...
There is no trick-or-treating, so candy sales do not go up at all, BUT costume parties are definitely a mainstay for University students. I ended up attending three costume parties all in the same costume, a 6 foot tall white dog. The dog costume I purchased is actually 犬のお父さん (papa dog), a popular mascot for a cell phone company, softbank, here in Japan, here is his ad (though it is in Japanese... http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=A2mb9S_uHsA&feature=related
Anyways the parties were nonetheless fun, and I met a ton of people! The dog costume was definitely the best choice for it's "kawaii(cute)" factor and attention grabbing power. My friend Hayato commented that I am quite モテモテ(mohteh mohteh)(a slang word for popular).
Yesterday, a friend (Sandy Ito) from Kalamazoo came to Kyoto to visit, and we went to Teramachi and shopped/chilled. I bought a new coat (with way too many unnecessary pockets) because I need one, and I also ended up buying a new japanese style shirt (3 layers sewn in to 1 shirt because layering is popular here), and pants with too many pockets. I also got a new messenger bag. It was a tough choice between a plaid one that had SO much engrish, and the white one I got which just says "Ain't I right? Just go easy!"(a.k.a. the white one was cheaper...)
It was a good budget day japanese-shopping wise.
Right now I'm working on a 500 character essay for class, and also beginning to write my speech for next friday. I only have to pay for 1 night's hotel stay and a few meals the whole trip! so excited!!!!!

No comments: