Wednesday, December 24, 2008

just a quick note:
when sending packages to me, in order to keep from the package taking 2 weeks or more to get here, make sure to write JAPAN below the address... it helps the postal service figure out where to send the package.

Monday, December 15, 2008

Just more pictures, scroll down for today's entry yo!




DECEMBER






well, It's officially been forever and a half since I last updated! sorry about that!
Dember has been quite good so far!
I've gotten my 2 best grammar test grades (In Japan that is) (along with my worst Kanji test grade... but let's not talk about that one... haha.)
I'm feeling comfortable with my Japanese again, which is a good thing!
I've gotten hooked on a television Drama that airs every morning 8h15-30 on NHK (japan's version of NBC).
It's called だんだん(dan dan) and is the best show ever (also the only tv besides the news that I watch...).
I bought what is called a cotatsu (炬燵)which is the best invention EVER!
It is a table that is low to the ground with a futon built in creating a skirt to the table. underneath the table is a small heater which makes your legs SO warm and comfortable!!!!!
I love it!
December also marks the time for 忘年会(bounenkai) or "forget the year parties"
This is a cance for people to go out with their peers (and or teachers) to forget the year and look forward to the next year.
I've started to do NY Times Crosswords on my Nintendo DS (handheld video game) in order to not forget english (for example I just typed igirisu cuz thats the japanese pronounciation...)
...but hey i'm just a mess...

Right now for my folk tale class, Im translating Star Wars into japanese and will present it to the class on Monday (yes, I know Star Wars is not an American folk talke, but they are all kind of boring... and its really a "long ago story" and Star Wars starts with "a long time ago in a galaxy far away..." so it's totally legit...)
I'm very excited because after christmas I will be visiting Yuka's family in Fukui Ken (she visited me in Atlanta back in June).

The most awkward moment happened to me 2 weeks ago in my Conversation class... we have 9 people in the class so when it was time to pair up, I was paired with Furukawa Sensei (the one obsessed with my teeth), and since we were doing friend conversation, she made me call her "yuriko chan" which is a very familiar way of calling a girl that is the same age or younger than you... I felt quite awkward to say the least.

It's kind of appropriate that the last chapter of the year is entitled やる気(yaruki) which means
the will to do something. My last class of the year is on Christmas Eve, and I'm just about ready to be out... luckily I have a 2 month break in spring!
The reason I havn't been updating lately is that we have 2-3 tests, listening, an essay (or 3) and reading exercises every week... ahhhh
Speaking of spring break, I was invited by Yunmin, Kim, and Im to Korea during the break (of course not when people come here, but if you can, tell me when you are coming so i dont double book...!!!!
For Christmas, my Chinese friend is cooking me Chinese food since we have kind of made a tradition to have that on christmas eve!

I had to say goodbye to my friend Takumi Shimizu (shimizu-kun) tonight. He's going back home tonight to get ready for his study abroad at UC Davis in January!
Sometimes I wish I had less of a social life here, It's very hard to juggle social outings with classwork (and also the price sucks sometimes... unless we go to the cheap places...)

Up at the top are some pictures of gatherings and outings with friends (more in next entry)

Monday, December 1, 2008

EEK

AAAAND I WAS OFFICIALLY PULLED ASIDE AND FORCED TO VOLUNTEER FOR A STUNT SHOW IN THE MIDDLE OF A SHOPPING MALL IN OSAKA...
SCARY STUFF YO.

Wednesday, November 26, 2008

The truth is, I thought it mattered - I thought that music mattered. But does it? Bollocks! Not compared to how people matter.

Today was the start of what is called Doshisha Eve Festival. This week marks the 133rd anniversary of Doshisha. In Japan, Colleges and (i think) high schools have huge festivals open to the public for a few days. Because of the school festival, we have the week off!
I attended the festival today, and it was like nothing I have ever experienced. Imagine the Dogwood Festival (for those of you who are in Atlanta) placed in a small space such as ummmm the AD YMCA parking lot. With as many people, and 10x pushier vendors.


In other news, I went shopping for a new coat and nice shoes, and I learned that I have a gift of bargaining without even trying. I was at a Department Store (where you usually NEVER get discounts according to my teachers) and everything I bought ended up being at least 20% off. I just had to follow a formula I learned at the 1st place, go to a younger, college age guy. start asking about stuff in Japanese, compliment their english no matter how bad. tell them I am a student at Doshisha, and therefore need to save. Mention that their fashion is great and I want a similar fashion. then pick what I want, act like I can't live without it but the price is soooo high. From there, out comes the calculator, and before I know it I have a discount! (It probably helps that I look so exotic here...)

Sunday, November 23, 2008

MEXICAN FOOD!

I FINALLY was able to eat mexican food!!!! YAY!
It was expensive, and a bit wrong, but it was delicious!
I had tortilla soup, a mexican steak, avocados, and chili rellenos!
While there I also met a few people who studied at GA State (WHAT ARE THE ODDS!)
anyways, it was alot of fun!
This week I don't have school except for monday (which is weird because Monday is a national holiday haha)

Tuesday, November 18, 2008

so finally a real update...kamo

Whew, it`s been a long time since I last updated my blog... I`ve just been very busy.
Every week I have 3 tests (2 character tests, and 1 grammar test) for my morning class and presentations/homework for my afternoon classes, so it has been very intense. Yesterday, my favorite sensei, Furukawa sensei was sick, so our class was cancelled (therefore I have free time here in the library now.
I just finished my first English lesson with Junko san, who is a TA for my Japanese culture class. Today was a kind of "where are you at in japanese right now?" check.
Since we finished one textbook in Japanese class (9-12:15 every day) we`ve started working on different skills during the last half of class. Since we have a different teacher every day, each day is a different skill.
monday- storytelling/comprehension
tuesday- conversation
weds - essay writing
thursday- listening comprehension
friday - speed reading
These skills are all geared towards the JLPT (japanese language proficiency test).

I`m still making many friends, which has become somewhat of a problem. When a new number is sent to my phone through infrared, I sometimes forget which japanese characters go whith which face, especially now that I see repeat kanjis!
I guess that`s the least of my worries though...

Well, We`ve had 4 holidays on mondays so far... but at Doshisha all of those holidays are class days. HOWEVER, next week is Doshisha`s birthday so we have an ENTIRE week off!
I am totally going to get some rest!

In the last few days it`s started to get really cold here so it`s getting difficult to wake up in the morning... insulation here sucks.
I have a presentation for my UK class tomorrow on Cool Britannia and Brit Pop... lol the class is so easy because it is an advanced level english class for Japanese students.

I`m so happy to have peanutbutter in my cubboard right now, it`s so good to taste it again!

Monday, November 3, 2008

p.p.s.
I just met an actor of a japanese comedic play style (kyogen) and he gave me free tickets to his show!!!

Sunday, November 2, 2008

woot

Guess who saw the Japanese emperor by total chance today? that's right! It was me!

OH P.S., I know I said that I am 13 hours ahead, but now it's 14 hours, so for example it's 8 am on the east coast, Japan is 10 p.m. REMEMBER THIS FOR SKYPE CONVOS!

Saturday, November 1, 2008

Japalloween

so one question asked of me recently was whether or not Japan celebrates Halloween.
The answer: not really...
I'd say it celebrates the day more than anywhere else in Asia, but it is an Irish (Catholic) holiday that was imported and popularized in America after all...
There is no trick-or-treating, so candy sales do not go up at all, BUT costume parties are definitely a mainstay for University students. I ended up attending three costume parties all in the same costume, a 6 foot tall white dog. The dog costume I purchased is actually 犬のお父さん (papa dog), a popular mascot for a cell phone company, softbank, here in Japan, here is his ad (though it is in Japanese... http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=A2mb9S_uHsA&feature=related
Anyways the parties were nonetheless fun, and I met a ton of people! The dog costume was definitely the best choice for it's "kawaii(cute)" factor and attention grabbing power. My friend Hayato commented that I am quite モテモテ(mohteh mohteh)(a slang word for popular).
Yesterday, a friend (Sandy Ito) from Kalamazoo came to Kyoto to visit, and we went to Teramachi and shopped/chilled. I bought a new coat (with way too many unnecessary pockets) because I need one, and I also ended up buying a new japanese style shirt (3 layers sewn in to 1 shirt because layering is popular here), and pants with too many pockets. I also got a new messenger bag. It was a tough choice between a plaid one that had SO much engrish, and the white one I got which just says "Ain't I right? Just go easy!"(a.k.a. the white one was cheaper...)
It was a good budget day japanese-shopping wise.
Right now I'm working on a 500 character essay for class, and also beginning to write my speech for next friday. I only have to pay for 1 night's hotel stay and a few meals the whole trip! so excited!!!!!

Friday, October 24, 2008

trips and festivals





So a long awaited entry is finally here!
I've forgotten a bit that has happened due to busyness, but I'll try to get it all in!
I'll start with the K reunion 2 weekends ago:
So I left Kyoto from Shijou Karasuma station on the express train to Osaka on a sunday early afternoon. about 45 minutes and $3.50 later, I was in Osaka Umeda area. I was a few hours early for the K reunion dinner, so I decided to wander the streets of Osaka. Pretty soon after leaving the station, I stumbled upon a music festival lining the street for about a mile and a half. As I walked down the street I kept hearing contrasting music styles as people just set up along the street and started playing. (P.S. there is an annoying clave clacking sound that comes from the temple across the street occasionally, and it is annoying me right now, but I digress). I was made to dance in a circle with several old women, and also was invited to join an improv performance and an electro-funk band (who gave me their cd!). After this, I met with K people and we had a tabe-nomihoudai (all you can eat and drink). Of course we had to eat so much because 2 people on opposite ends of the table thought they were ordering for us all... The aircon on the wall was named "cleanpoo"... I am always amused by japanese names for things...
Last saturday I randomly took a trip to Tokyo to visit Yuki and anybody else who could come (of course that ended up only being Neal) I got on the bus friday night at 11h40p, and arrived in Tokyo at 6h20a. The night Bus was cheap and not too bad, though I recommend this list for anybody planning a night bus trip:
-eye mask
-melatonin/sleeping pill that is good for 6 hours
-comfy pillow (blanket and slippers are provided)
-change of clothes
-toiletry bag
These items made the trip SO much easier!
I sat around the station for a bit in the morning waiting for Neal and Yuki to wake up, and a hobo approached me and tried to give me money cuz he thought my parents had forced me to move out and I could not afford a place to live (THAT WAS A FIRST...esp since I'm used to old ladies and young guys randomly talking to me in Kyoto/Osaka).
We had a delicious lunch in the station department store, then walked to the government tower. Yuki left us, and Neal got the 2 of us lost in Tokyo, he kept walking in circles, so I finally took over and got us to Shibuya from Shinjuku. We shopped a little in Shibuya (and random;ly ran into Takumi), then Neal departed and I met with another friend. We went to a restaurant themed like an old o'temple. We did photoboothing, and windowshopped some, then headed back to Shinjuku park where we just hung out and talked until my bus back to Kyoto arrived at 10h40.
On Wednesday, we got out of class early to view the Jidai Matsuri (festival of the ages). JMD came into town to see it with me. I got a ton of great pictures, but it was kind of boring...
That evening we went with moto to the Himatsuri in Kurama. All I have to say about that was it was packed like a crowded train, there was alot of fire and oshiri (butts) (the festival guys were wearing fundoshi (picture sumo uniforms, but on skinny guys)).
my Tuesday Japanese teacher is officially obsessed with my teeth... and I don't know why... its kinda crazy...

Tuesday, October 21, 2008

I'm alive, just uber busy! I'll update soon about the trips to Osaka and Kyoto!

Thursday, October 2, 2008

FREE TRIP!

So I just found out that I got a spot to speak at the Tokyo Japan America Youth Forum on November 7th! But wait... don't I live in Kyoto? Isn't that a 2.5 hour train ride on the most expensive bullet train? NO PROBLEM! My ticket and 1 night's hotel stay are payed for!
I'm really excited right now... the Japanese word that best describes me is 幸せ (she ah wah say)
or " (adj-na,n) happiness; good fortune; luck; blessing;"
Now I just have to write a 7 minute speech plus a self-introduction (there's that self-intro again).

Wednesday, October 1, 2008

忙しかった (EE SOH GAH SHE KAH TAH)

For all you wakaranai (don't understand) people, the title means I was busy. Sorry for the lapse... but it's bound to happen more and more as the year goes on and my daily routine settles (unless you want entries that state the same thing kana...).
Well, I've officially had all of my classes, so I feel like I can update about them now:

Every day, I have Japanese for 3h15m... it's quite taxing yo. From 9-12h15, I learn a chapter per day. I also have a different sensei every day, so now I've had to do my self-introduction about 10 times (self-intros are really big here). I really like all of my teachers, they are all really nice. My Tuesday teacher, Furukawa Sensei is kind of scattered so it makes the class more interesting. I'm kind of frustrated because we're going over extremely easy characters... so I feel like kanji time every day is sort of wasted...

Thursdays, I have UK/Japan Cultural comparison, and it seems like the easiest class I've ever taken! It's an ADVANCED LEVEL course because it's in English, so I have to write about 300 words for homework every week (this weeks is a response to Led Zeppelin, and a short bit of research on the IRA).

After that, I have Law and Politics of Japan in Japanese, so it's a bit difficult, but I'm going to stay with it at least until drop period.

Friday afternoon, I have 日本語総合演習B, which is an intermediate Japanese Language seminar, but I dont know, I think I may wait until next semester to take this class...

On Tuesdays, I have 日本語総合演習A which is a similar class, but working on Oral skills, it seems like a very fun class, and the level is not too difficult!

After Seminar A, I have Cultures of Japan/Kyoto. This class seems like an awesome class, we have Japanese student TA's (who happen to be in my Circle(informal club). The downside of that is that they keep being like who knows the answer? ROB!!!! KOTAE WA!?(What's the answer?).

I was able to meet with JASC people on Thurs evening, which was very fun, we reminisced and planned to meet again! On Saturday, I ran into Hisashi (My 1st TA who visited Atlanta during Spring Break 2007). We were so surprised to see eachother in the student supply shop. I ended up having lunch with he and his dad.

On sunday, I went to Fushimi Inari Shrine with my Circle (as seen in the movie Memoirs of a Geisha... In fact, for those of you who havn't seen the movie, watch it for a good idea of where I am living... little has changed since the time of the movie in many neighborhoods...). Even though I had been here before, it was still great to see it again as it is such an amazing shrine!

After Tuesday's culture class, I ran into Tomoka (studied at K college for a year) on campus and we talked for a while with her friend who spoke Spanish.

I'm beginning to get used to hearing Japanese only and living here. It's quite enjoyable so far, but I've only begun the "study abroad bell curve of emotions" given to me by the K councelling center.

Today I had lunch with Iseki, Moto, and Iseki's friend, then explored the Kyoto U campus, it's quite nice, but I like Doshisha better I think (NO OFFENSE GUYS!).

Well, it's about time to write 300 words... in English... about Led Zeppelin... HAHA!

UNTIL NEXT TIME (whenever that may be)
-Rob

OOH OOH PS!
Have you ever heard of a small company that's kind of well known called "NINTENDO?" How about "KYOCERA?" Well... I don't want to brag (cuz I mean who's heard of them...) but they are located within 2 miles of where I live...

Wednesday, September 24, 2008

Classes start tomorrow!

Since we last talked, I've joined a social circle for Japanese students who want to meet internationals and practice Japanese with them. It's been fun, we had a party, and also we had a trip to the Temple of 1000 buddhas. So far during my stay in Kyoto, I've seen more "National Treasures" than most people do in a lifetime...
I'm loving it here, I'm making a ton of great new friends!
On sunday I got to see Elisabeth who is now Teaching on a small island north of here! Afterwards, I went out with a bunch of people from my dorm to sanjou kiyamachi and went to a dance club (one of the few ACTUAL dance clubs in the city) It was quite fun!
Since I last updated, I've gotten my Gaijin paper, health insurance, cell phone, and bank accounts.
Of course on my insurance (and therefore my bank accounts) my name was misspelled... instead of "クーパー" they wrote it as "ケーパー" (notice the small line on the top of the 1st character...) This in effect changed my name from "Cooper" to "Caper (like a mushroom?)" hmmm... well I guess I'm now Rob Caper for insurance and banking...
So you know how I said it is typical for Japanese people to ignore strangers? I was sort-of mistaken... In Kyoto (pretty much Kyoto only apparently), elderly women will approach young people (foreign or not) and begin to have conversations such as "what is your name?,""where are you from?,""what are you studying?." This was a very amusing discovery for me as it happened both in the line at the bank and on the bus.
Well, I should have a more interesting post once I get into classes and everything... the last week was spent meeting people and filling out forms...

Thursday, September 18, 2008

Who'da thunk it?

Today was a big change from the past 2 days. I got a good amount of sleep (though i still woke up ridiculously early... and went to the Fusoukan (the building where the international center is located), and found out that I was not placed in level 2 like I thought I MAY be placed into. NO, I was placed in not level 1 (like I feared...) but LEVEL 3. This made me pretty happy! After this we had time to meet our Sensei (I have 5, one for each day). We also signed up for classes. For this quarter I signed up for half the required ammount (20 language classes, 4 discussion tables, and 6 culture classes). Every day, I take 2 periods of Japanese language in the morning (9-12h15 with a 15 minute break). On tuesday, I have Cultures during 4th period, which is basically a field trip class! We learn Ikebana (flower arranging), Aikido (martial arts), kansaiben (western dialect), sumie (ink painting), etc... I also have a beginner level discussion table. On thursday, I will be taking the English section of comparative cultures (which is about Great Brittain since there are more english speaking students from there), and Law and Politics of Japan. On friday, I have Intermediate level discussion table, which I am sure will be a bit difficult, but both of my teachers who conducted my interview told me "daijoubu yo" or "that's ok!"
I didn't realize how busy this will be, but hey, I'll definitely learn alot!

Remember how I had to get that chest X-ray last xmas? well I got zapped again today... man they really hate tuburculosis here... and dont have the "stab-the-monster" arm test...

I've been meeting a bunch of people, and they're all so nice! On yesterday's library tour I met Chanaw from Miami and Aya from LA, who are in the Bekka school. We ended up having lunch together and chatting. Both of them are veterans at this whole living in Japan thing.
Today, I was walking by the kofukan (classroom building), and was stopped by someone who I had never seen before (which is very rare in Japan since nobody makes eye contact with strangers, and much less even nods or speaks (though I've gotten used to being stared at until I look because I am an exotic foreigner)). Anywho... He was like "HEY, are you Rob?" ~which really threw me off... how did he know my name?~ "I am Ryan's friend Vincent from China! He showed me your picture and told me to meet you! Let's become friends!" I had remembered reading in Ryan's blog about Vincent, so I was very surprised, I agreed, then we parted ways.
I arrived at the kanbaikan for my health check pretty early, and was resting on the couch when I was greeted by Yao san, who is also from China (wow, the Chinese are so friendly!) We talked in Japanese for a bit before realizing that we could communicate in English much easier since we were in levels 3 and 4 of Japanese...
Last night, I ended up talking to the girl who helped me apply for my Alien Registration Card (like a green card but I must have it on me at all times to prove I'm not an Illegal alien). She invited me to BBQ for our dorm area on sunday, after which we will go on a group hike to the 大 character that is written on the side of Daimonji Mountain! I was also invited to join the "Cosmopolitan club" which is like "introduction to Kyoto and Japanese students for international students." On sunday they are also having a field trip! I'm so excited to meet new people!
Last night, I met one of my friends from JASC who also goes to Doshisha. We had Japanese Italian food in the station. It was quite good! It was good to see someone from JASC and recall memories!
Apparently it was so weird to see me in Japan though!
I am really excited for classes to start next Thursday! It's about time... But on the same token, I'm also nervous about it...

Tuesday, September 16, 2008

"REALITY CRISIS"

I saw this on an "engrish" t-shirt today during a break for orientation, and I thought that it was perfect for how I feel today. I woke up at around 6 am (jetlag is the best, AND WORST alarm clock EVER!). After this, I got ready for the day. For breakfast I had muscat yogurt and a grapefruit drink, which was very delicious! When 10 FINALLY rolled around, all of the new Language and Culture center students (日文センター) (like me), and Bekka students filed into the divinty hall and had an entrance ceremony. At first I was just staying to myself, but then my neighbor Adrian from Universiteit Leiden (Netherlands) joined me and we talked for a bit. The ceremony was interesting and I was able to follow along for a good bit. IMMEDIATELY after the ceremony (literally as they said Amen) we went to the next building and started our placement test. Needless to say I could only attempt section one... (for the 1st 2 levels/4 of the Japanese proficiency test). Even that was probably very scattered and filled with mistakes, I was too tired to tell. I got a quick lunch, then we had our Orientation which cosisted of going through paperwork in Japanese for 2 hours, but I also received my student ID and log-in information (I'm a real student!). After this, I had about 2 hours of free time before my oral interview. I can honestly say that I think this went well. My interviewer asked me if I knew Ryan Fark, and after responding in the affirmative, I was informed that she went bowling and hung out with him on numerous occasions. This made me feel more at ease, but I know that I stumbled quite a bit!
Right now it's almost 6 pm, and I'm about ready to fall asleep...
I think I will attempt to fill out a few forms then get some dinner... Tomorrow, I will be starting quite early and travelling around Kyoto with a Japanese student to register myself as an Alien, though not the fun kind with the lazers and space ships...
Walking through Gosho (The Imperial Garden) on the way to campus, I was nearly attacked by a crow. If you don't know, crows in Japan are about twice the size as in America. I think Frances said it best on the AP Art trip "I FEEL LIKE THAT CROW COULD EAT MY SOUL." I have heard that orientation is just a huge mess of confusion and it becomes better afterwards, but we are all so tired and loopy right now.

Sunday, September 14, 2008

KYOTO!





























So after just about the longest journey EVER, I'm finally here, with internet, and caught up a bit on sleep!
So Tuesday was my big going-away party where my parents invited people over to say bye. It was a ton of fun, and I got some very useful (and packable!) presents!
Thursday I started my journey with a flight to Chicago, pretty uneventful, and I made it to the Quality inn pretty easily. HOWEVER, I didn't sleep much...
The next 2 flights were... well... long...
I made it to my dorm at about 7 pm Japan time and got checked in, my room is HUUUGE!
After checking in, Akie and I met Sandy (who took Japanese with me and is studying in Hikone) for dinner. my 1st meal in Japan only cost 円300! (a little less than $3).
Overnight, in my lack-of-sleepyness I unpacked my suitcases, everything fit! The next day, I woke up really early and walked along the Kamo River as well as the Gosho park. At 11, I met with Akie, Sandy, Ryder, Daniel, and their friend from JCMU (the other school). We walked downtown (Shijou) and met with Hisashi and Takumi. After this we went to the lower section of my street (Teramachidori) which is a shopping street to have lunch, shop, and play drums! After dinner at a tapas place, we rode the subway back home. I stopped by Akie's apartment (about 15 minutes away and half the size with double the stuff). to use her internet very briefly. Upon returning to my dorm, I met a few people, and after telling them that I moved into Hawaii 102, about 3 of them informed me that they had presents for me from former K students/former 102 residents! I received a Christmas tree!, a tv, a toaster oven (now I have 2...) a claendar, A BYCYCLE!, and an internet router! EVERYBODY IS SO NICE! They are throwing a BBQ for all the new residents soon!
Today I'm going to put the bike under my name so I can get it back if it gets towed! Tomorrow is the start of Orientation, so I may be writing a new entry about how school is going soon!

mata ne
Rob

Monday, September 8, 2008

It's The FINAL COUNTDOWN

Well, that title would have fit better if I were going to Europe...
I leave Atlanta in 3 days, and leave the states in 4 days.
Currently I have part of one suitcase packed... (out of 2 suitcases, a carry on bag, and backpack).
It seems like I've done most of what I can do as far as preparations, now I just need to call the bank and cc company.
I'm kind of glad that my program starts so late because most programs are now a month in, and I enjoy this nice time to relax! It is partly frustrating because I am reading all of my friends' adventures while slowly packing and otherwise loafing around.
I've recently talked to Akie (one of the visiting Internationals (VI) at K College last year), and she has agreed to help me transport my luggage from Kyoto train station to my dorm room near campus. Not only will it be great to see her, but this will also save money as subway tickets are roughly $1.50-2 depending on the distance as opposed to the higher cost of taxis.
Hisashi and Takumi, two other VI's from my freshman year will be visiting me the following day and showing me around the area.
I've recently received an e-mail with my orientation schedule (of which I can understand roughly 50%). From what I can tell it will be a fun week aside from the placement test and the physical.
...I can't wait until I can actually post stuff about study abroad on here instead of fluff because I'm bored...
In other news I have from 3h20-7pm to land, go through customs, buy an express train ticket, 1.15 hour ride to Kyoto, meet Akie, take subway to 今出川駅, then walk to the dorm and get my key! needless to say I'm stressed about that...

Monday, August 25, 2008

Welcome Readers!

If you are reading this, I have either informed you of my new blog venture or you were searching my name in Google for some reason (in that case...WHY?).
This blog is intended to update people with tales, anecdotes, reports, or just tidbits about my life in Kyoto from September 2008 'til August 2009.
I welcome questions, comments, complaints, and criticisms in the comment section of each entry.
I do apologize in advance should I become lazy in my blogging habits. Alas, sometimes schoolwork will get in the way of my internetting (and also my habit of turning nouns into gerunds...).
If you are also currently studying abroad, please do me the favor of including me in your rants about wherever your travels may take you!